Illinois Council for Exceptional Children Logo
Posted on: June 16th, 2020

This message was edited by the ICEC with permission from CEC.  The editing is in the blue type.


Message About Racism and Inequity

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) stands with its members and community against racism, oppression, and the atrocities of the deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, and others, including Lequan McDonald from Illinois. As a result, protests are happening in response to that injustice, and we voice our collective pain, quest, and demands for social justice and equity across all communities and schools.


Our CEC core values clearly outline our “commitment to diversity, care, and respect for the dignity and worth of all individuals.” And today, we reaffirm our commitment to social justice, inclusion, and equity as we strive to be there for our students and special education professionals— many of whom are from diverse communities. We know how difficult this time is, and we are with you. We know first-hand how such traumatic and horrifying experiences can impact teaching and learning environments. In addition to our personal experiences, we see it through the eyes of our children and youth daily.


CEC will continue to uphold the values of inclusion and equity and support all of our members, volunteers, staff, and the students with exceptionalities we serve. In line with our strategic plan, we will be appointing a work group made up of members and outside experts to design and provide professional learning experiences that will impact equitable outcomes and better support children and youth with exceptionalities, as well as special education professionals. This is a charge to ensure that we continue to progress as a special education field. We hear our community and we are with you carrying the torch of equity, inclusion, and social justice.


We are ALL in this together.



Jennifer Lesh, President

Council for Exceptional Children


Tisa Aceves, Board Member

Tachelle Banks, Board Member

Mary Lynn Boscardin, Past President

Yvonne Bui, Treasurer

Dennis Cavitt, President Elect

Rosalind Hall, Board Member

William Hunter, Board Member

Laural Jackson, Board Member

Danielle Kovach, Board Member

Diana Morales, Board Member

Cindy Perras, Board Member

Chad Rummel, Executive Director

Charmion Rush, Board Member

Kareem Thompson, Board Member

Ben Tillotson, Board Member

Mitchell Yell, Board Member

Paul Zinni, Board Member